A un papillon

William Wordsworth

William Wordsworth

To a butterfly

Stay near me — do not take thy flight !
A little longer stay in sight !
Much converse do I find in thee,
Historian of my infancy !
Float near me ; do not yet départ !
Dead times revive in thee :
Thou bring’st, gay créature as thou art !
A solemn image to my heart,
My father’s family !

Oh! pleasant, pleasant were the days,
The time, when in our childish plays,
My sister Emmeline and I
Together chased the butterfly!
A very hunter did I rush
Upon the prey; — with leaps and springs
I followed on from brake to bush ;
But she, God love her, feared to brush
The dust from off its wings.

*

A un papillon

Reste, oh ! ne prends pas ton essor ;
Laisse-moi t’observer encor,
Historien de mon enfance !
Sur la fleur que ton poids balance,
Reste, papillon gracieux.
Ta forme brillante et légère
Fait revivre devant mes yeux
Les temps morts et silencieux,
Mon père et ma mère !

Heureux, heureux ces jours lointains
Où, dans mes ébats enfantins,
Laissant loin ma soeur plus petite,
Je me lançais à ta poursuite.
Moi, je fondais en vrai chasseur
Pour te saisir, les mains cruelles ;
Mais elle — Dieu l’aime ! — avait peur
D’effacer ce duvet de fleur
Qui poudre tes ailes.

Traduction : Emile Legouis

Laisser un commentaire

